Kusal Perera appointed SL ODI skipper; Karunaratne, Angelo Mathews dropped

Wicketkeeper-batsman Kusal Perera was once on Wednesday named Sri Lanka’s ODI captain with Kusal Mendis as his deputy for the away sequence towards Bangladesh this month.

Perera, who has represented Sri Lanka in 101 ODIs, 22 Exams and 47 T20Is, takes over the reins from Dimuth Karunaratne.

Karunaratne, in conjunction with senior all-rounder Angelo Mathews, top-order batsman Lahiru Thirimanne and wicketkeeper Dinesh Chandimal, were dropped from the squad by way of the Cricket Variety Committee of Sri Lanka Cricket.

As a substitute, the squad comprises a number of new faces.

Pacer Chamika Karunaratne and batsman Shiran Fernando have earned their maiden limited-overs name up, whilst speedster Binura Fernando, who has performed a few T20Is, was once additionally named within the facet.

The crew is scheduled to go away for Bangladesh on Might 16 for the three-match ODI sequence to be performed in Dhaka on Might 23, 25 and 28.


Kusal Perera (capt), Kusal Mendis (vice-capt), Danushka Gunathilaka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Pathum Nissanka, Dasun Shanaka, Ashen Bandara, Wanindu Hasaranga, Isuru Udana, Akila Dananjaya, Niroshan Dickwella, Dushmantha Chameera, Ramesh Mendis, Asitha Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Chamika Karunaratne, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *